Opulent Interiors: Mmmmmm……So Magnificent

 

Whether a grandiose, opulent lifestyle is what you prefer or not I think everyone can get a kick out of an over the top opulently designed space.  It’s just always fun to see.  And can be a great place to get ideas for your own home. 

_7c8d-traditional-interior-design

As for me….I actually love an opulent space…..and could have quite happily been a queen living in a castle.  Yes, it’s true. 

Macintosh HD:Users:ktowers:Desktop:untitled folder 6:PL01405418.

I can quite easily see myself in this lush bedroom…..with these dogs no less.

Beautiful-Freestanding-Bathtubs-for-Opulent-Bathroom-Design-from-Recor-2

I can see myself bathing in this spectacular tub…..

Altamoda-H-Charming-and-Opulent-Pink-Girls-Room-Sample-Pictures-500x310

Or creating this large, colorful room for my daughter to entertain friends.

CA002_14_Interior_of_opulent_living_room_in_mansion_house

As I always say, over and over again, when it comes to design, any space – even an opulent space can be knocked off in bits and pieces for your own home, too, if you like the look.

Old_opulent_interior_by_fraher_david

If you’ve read many of my blog posts you know I encourage taking pieces of an expensive looking room and making them work in your own home.  There is a less expensive alternative for almost any opulent piece you see in these pictures.

72927_1_468c

So you can duplicate the look in your own home whether big or small.

forte-dei-marmi-grand-hotel-imperiale-243574

Love the eye-popping tangerine.  The new big color for 2012!

dzn_Alter-Ego-by-Studio-Job-23

And, I’m all about getting ideas from commercial places like this.  Great floors – and look at that rich stain and the stain glass window…..

Interior-Notre-Dame-de-la-Garde

Or even a magnificent cathedral like the Notre Dame.  Take just a piece of this amazing art and work it into your home on a ceiling or a wall, a piece of furniture or just large scale artwork.

I mean…..how magnificent!

Happy Decorating!

  3 comments for “Opulent Interiors: Mmmmmm……So Magnificent

  1. Dot Greenlee
    January 17, 2012 at 3:35 am

    Oh girl, I’m right there with you…I think everyone deserves and should have a little bit of opulence. I love this post!

  2. January 17, 2012 at 4:16 am

    Thanks, Dot!

  3. January 20, 2012 at 3:47 am

    Hi Sheri! I just discovered your great blog and read an old post of yours on Old World furnishings, where you featured Anderson’s furniture. Many of my pieces came from there. I LOVE that place! I am a new follower; and I invite you to follow me, too!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 176 other followers